What happens if a land creature dies




















Over the years Magic has become very specific about the terms used to describe cards, abilities and effects just to avoid "intuitive" confusion like this how can you kill a land???

The term your friend was looking for was:. There are plenty of magic cards which have the words destroy target land in the rules text. The consensus here is that land-creatures that are dealt lethal damage go to the graveyard, just like any other creature. In addition to being creatures, these cards are also still lands and are affected by land-targeting effects like Strip Mine.

Because it is a land it is not affected by cards that target "non-land", like Abrupt Decay. Hat tip to Ian Pugsley and Rawgramming for these examples in comments. If you change a card's type, it loses it's existing types [CR As such, it is both a creature and a land. There's no reason why a land creature shouldn't be destroyed by any of the various ways that destroy creatures.

Being a land doesn't confer some kind of special immunity on creatures. Of course, you can't normally destroy a land with a Lightning Bolt, but that's only because you can't target a land with a Lightning Bolt, and even if you did, it wouldn't have a toughness score to make sense of the damage assigned to it.

Suppose someone targeted your land creature with a Bolt, and in response you removed the effect that was turning your land into a creature by Disenchanting Living Lands, perhaps. At this point the land is once again an illegal target for the Bolt, so the burn spell would be countered by game rules and your land would be safe!

Bonus Answer : Of course, every rule in Magic has its exceptions. If you want your creature land to survive taking lethal damage from a Lightning Bolt, you can always play Consecrate Land on it! I think it may depend on the effect and the version. For example, if you look at Living Lands , the ruling is right there on the card:. Now they can be killed, enchanted, and so forth, and they can be tapped either for mana or to attack.

The living lands have no color; they are not considered green cards. Creeping Tar Pit , on the other hand, has the wording that you heard:. It's still a land. Now, I'm not up on current rules, but to me, the key is to take that last sentence in context.

This is what I see:. I believe that "becomes a creature" indicates that it can be targeted by effects that affect creatures, and that "is a land" indicates that it can also be targeted by effects that affect lands. In other words, it isn't converted into a creature; it is a land and also a creature. Sign up to join this community. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top. Stack Overflow for Teams — Collaborate and share knowledge with a private group.

Create a free Team What is Teams? Learn more. When a land becomes creature, can you kill it? Ask Question. Asked 10 years, 5 months ago. Active 3 years, 6 months ago. Viewed 80k times. Improve this question.

When a spell would resolve, it only needs to have at least one legal target remaining to resolve. The targets are locked in when you cast the spell. If all your targets leave the battlefield or become illegal somehow perhaps by gaining Hexproof or protection , your spell is simply going to be countered by game rules. Some spells try to do something impossible to a LEGAL target… this is not the same has having an illegal target, so it will still do as much as possible. However, if you target an indestructible creature, that target is legal.

When something adds swamps or forests to my mana pool, do I get to use them every turn? Do I search my deck and put them on the battlefield or what? Your lands are not your mana pool.

Skip to content 1. Can I pay one cost for two effects? This question usually comes up when somebody wants to sacrifice one creature for two different things, or wants to discard cards to one effect and also use them to activate some other ability.

This is actually a complicated question! That way the opponent has to act right then without knowing which creatures, if any, will be attacking. Whenever anything resolves, the active player player whose turn it is right now gets priority.

If the stack is empty, that player can put anything they want on the stack before you get a chance to respond. When that player just cast a planeswalker, that next action is usually activating a loyalty ability. You still get a chance to respond to that ability, but the ability will resolve even if you remove Liliana somehow, and the counter has already been added before you get a chance to cast a damage spell, which may change your decision of whether you really want to cast that damage spell in the first place.

The only similarity that planeswalkers have to players is that you can attack them during combat. Every card in Magic has a type, and some cards also have subtypes or supertypes that provide more information. Each basic land makes one mana of a particular color. Plains make white mana , Islands make blue mana , Swamps make black mana , Mountains make red mana , and Forests make green mana.

You can play one land during each of your turns. To play a land, just put it from your hand onto the battlefield during either of the main phases of your turn. You can cast a creature as a spell during your main phase, and it remains on the battlefield as a permanent.

Artifacts Artifacts represent machines or magical objects. Most artifacts are colorless, which means you can cast them with any color of mana. Sorceries Sorceries are spells that you can cast only during a main phase of your turn. They have a one-time effect. You do what the spell says, and then put the card into your graveyard. Like sorceries, instants have a one-time effect, and then you put them into your graveyard. Some cards have special abilities that are printed here in the area above the dividing line , and abilities sometimes have reminder text in parentheses to help explain what they do.

Flavor text may also appear in the text box, usually below a divider bar. Abilities of creatures and other permanents on the battlefield usually fall into one of three categories: static abilities, triggered abilities, and activated abilities. Triggered Abilities A triggered ability is an ability that is triggered by a specific event occurring in the game. For example, Tattered Mummy is a creature with the triggered ability "When Tattered Mummy dies, each opponent loses 2 life.

Activated Abilities An activated ability is an ability that you can activate whenever you want like casting an instant , as long as you can pay the cost.

Each activated ability is formatted in the same way: "Cost: Effect. Every creature card has a box in the lower right corner that shows its power and toughness. Its toughness the second number is the amount of damage that must be dealt to it in a single turn to destroy it.

This symbol tells you which Magic set the card is from. That gameboard is divided into several different game zones. The previous page shows what a two-player game might look like after a few turns. Your library is your draw pile, which remains face down throughout the game.

You lose the game if you are forced to draw a card but cannot because your library is out of cards. You start the game by drawing a hand of seven cards. If you have more than seven cards in your hand as your turn ends, you must discard down to seven. You and your opponents share the battlefield. Cards that go onto the battlefield including lands, creatures, artifacts, and enchantments are called permanents. Instants and sorceries are never on the battlefield. You can arrange your permanents however you want we recommend putting your lands closest to you , but your opponent must be able to see all of them.

Your graveyard is your discard pile: creatures that die, artifacts and enchantments that are destroyed, and cards you discard from your hand go here. The cards in your graveyard should always be face up, and anyone can look at them at any time. Each player has their own graveyard. If a spell or ability exiles a card, that card is set apart from the rest of the game.



0コメント

  • 1000 / 1000